I don’t think I’ve ever experienced this many summer thunderstorms.  In California, when you look out the window in the morning and see the sun shining, you can be assured that it would stay sunny all day.  But weather here is amazingly fickle.  I don’t think people usually praise Boston weather, but I do love the flash thunderstorms here.  This past Saturday brought warm sunshine interspersed with sudden downpours.  I love the smell of heat rising from wet pavement and darkened asphalt, the puddle in the parking lot near my apartment where birds go to splash and bathe, the big bright rain drops hanging on petals and leaves, and most of all, the dramatic storm clouds that cloak the sky.

I am using my new analog Nikon FM10 camera and I like how my pictures turn out slightly grainy.  I like how shooting in film forces me to be more intentional with each picture.  Since I can’t waste a whole roll on one subject, I have to try to make sure my first attempt is my last one.  It takes me forever to hit that shutter release and most of the time it’s a crapshoot, but I’m hoping I’ll be experienced enough one day to feel like I actually know what I’m doing.

I took this on a stormy/sunny afternoon at a friend’s house while helping to prepare barbecue food.  Well, they did most of the work while I sat around uselessly with the camera.

I had a good time.

