I used to buy Whole Foods Sea Salt Caramel and devour them within days.  At every turn, I would pop these into my mouth until the last piece was gone and I start bemoaning the fact that I had ingested enough sugar to fuel a 100 watt light bulb.  Sadly, they aren’t available at my local store.  There was nothing like coming home from a long day of work, and sinking your teeth into one of these chewy nuggets.  So I decided that I should try my hand at making my own caramel.

IMG_6157 copy

IMG_6155 copy

IMG_6186 copy

Heat up sugar and cream, and let it set.  It doesn’t seem like such a hard thing to do, right?  But my first few attempts were quite disappointing.  They didn’t seem to harden quite enough to hold its shape.  But third time’s a charm!  This recipe uses honey instead of corn syrup, which is not only tons healthier (well, as healthy as candy can be) but gives the caramel a richer taste. I also used raw sugar for a bit of molasses flavor.  If you slice them into pieces and wrap in wax paper, they make great treats to hand out to friends.  Now that I know how to make caramel, I can’t wait to try them over shortbread.  That’ll have to wait until another day…

Sea Salt Caramels from Two Tarts

