Normally, I avoid taking my DSLR camera to restaurants. As much as I enjoy food photography, the lighting is often terrible for taking good pictures. I much rather dig into my food than satisfy my inner shutterbug. But I went to Outerlands today hoping to take some decent photos for the weSpot contest.

Since it’s always packed to the brim whenever I try to go, I was expecting to taste some spectacular-ness. It didn’t live up to the hype, really. My ham sandwich was good, but not memorable nor worth the hour wait. While the quality of the food is solid, I could get a better and more flavorful sandwich at Wooly Pig Cafe around the corner from my house. But their hot ginger, lemon apple cider was excellent. If I could, I would spend my whole Saturday sipping this cider and reading a book.

But overall, the only reason why I think this place is so popular is the decor. Beautiful wood paneling lined the walls and counters. They have a terrific outdoor seating area with wooden benches and flowers that made the hour long wait not so bad, especially since I could warm myself in the sun. I almost wanted to order more food just so I could sit there longer.

Ideally I would have taken more people shots, but I’m not quite that bold. I wouldn’t know if I’d want somebody taking my picture while I’m eating. Then again, maybe I wouldn’t care. One of these days, I’m going to try one of those photography challenges where I take portraits of strangers on the streets.

outerlands

outerlands

outerlands

outerlands

outerlands

outerlands

Which five should I send to weSpot?

