I was looking for a sweet potato pie recipe when I found this purple yam pie with its beautiful hue beckoning me to make it. It’s definitely a fun and tasty departure from pumpkin or sweet potato if you can manage to find these tubers at your Asian grocery store. I just ate the last slice of this pie last night and felt truly sorry that pie dishes don’t come in larger sizes.

The coconut milk and yam flavor blend really well together. The filling is super creamy and thick and well suited for licking-off-the-spoon. I almost think I could’ve served the filling itself in a bowl as a mashed purple yam dessert. Most of all, I love the fact that I can still see the pattern of swirls left behind when it was spread into the pie crust.

purple yam pie

Purple yam pie

Use the recipe for the filling from The Endless Meal but pair it with the tried and true buttery, flaky crust from Allrecipes. Be conservative with the cayenne pepper if you prefer a less spicy pie. I used half a teaspoon and it really gives it a strong kick. I might consider using cardamom instead.