I can’t remember how many times I’ve tried to make pull-apart bread. There was always something wrong with mine. The slices were too uneven, the edges too charred, the insides too dry. Luckily, I’m no stranger to sequential failures, thanks to graduate school. I’ve spent years cultivating a resilient sense of optimism and a high tolerance for repetition. I’m pretty sure that If I can bounce back from months of demoralizing experimental disasters, then making a decent loaf of bread is no biggie.

And the rewards were deliciously satisfying. As soon as I pulled this out of the oven, I did a little dance of joy. Perfectly crispy edges with generous amounts of buttery mustard and cheese filling slathered on each slice. Somehow we managed to restrain ourselves enough to make the loaf last for a few days. It makes an unbeatable combination with baked BBQ chicken wings and sautéed veggies. Pop open a beer and enjoy a toasted slice of this bad boy.

Now, if only my experiments could be as gratifying as this loaf of bread.

mustard cheese pull apart bread

mustard cheese pull apart bread

mustard cheese pull apart bread

Cheddar Beer and Mustard Pull-Apart Bread from Smitten Kitchen

Tips from Flourish

