I wasn’t planning to spend my Saturday morning baking this olive oil cake. But I had some leftover coconut milk sitting in the fridge, and I hate to see that go to waste. And that bag of tangelos, practically begging to be zested and juiced. What else was I going to do with all these strawberries? I mean, I could eat them by themselves. Or…they can be embellished with a little cake. See, my hands were tied.

So it wasn’t long before I found myself carefully separating bits of tangelo from pith and connective membrane. The counter top was splattered with juice and I had managed to get bits of egg white on my pajamas. So much for a relaxing weekend morning away from the kitchen where I spend most of my weeknights making home-cooked dinners. But baked goods have a tendency to settle, stubbornly, on my mind. This cake in particular occupied most of my thoughts during my 40 lap swim on Friday night. That’s a lot of laps to be thinking about moist yellow crumbs.

And as long as I’m here, I might as well throw in that bottle of lemon scented olive oil that I had been saving for something special.

Dan and I each had two slices of warm cake studded with bits of tangy tangelos, topped with a generous heap of coconut whipped cream and served with honey-sweetened strawberries. Perfect breakfast.

orange olive oil cake
orange olive oil cake
Tangelo Olive Oil Cake from Smitten Kitchen

  1. I used tangelos instead of oranges. They’re easier to peel but more sour than your average navel orange.
  2. I halved the amount of sugar in the cake, because I knew the whipped cream and strawberries will be sweetened. And it was perfect.
  3. The whipped cream was made with heavy cream, coconut milk, a few spoonfuls of powdered sugar, and flavored with a bit of vanilla.
